top of page

New Government sworn in

© Miguel Figueiredo Lopes | Presidência da República

On Tuesday, President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa swore in Prime Minister, Luís Montenegro, and the 17 ministers of his minority government formed by the centre-right Social Democratic Party (PSD) and its right-wing partner the People's Party (CDS-PP).

The swearing-in ceremony, which took place 23 days after the snap parliamentary elections of March 10, was attended by the new speaker of parliament, José Pedro Aguiar-Branco, the outgoing prime minister, António Costa of the Socialist Party, and the outgoing ministers of the previous government, as well as Portugal's attorney general, Lucília Gago.

The swearing in of the new government will be completed today with the swearing in of the secretaries of state.

At Tuesday's ceremony, which began at exactly 6 p.m., the members of the new executive were called up one by one, in hierarchical order, to take the oath and sign the instrument of investiture, a process that lasted around 13 minutes.

Posts recentes

Ver tudo


bottom of page